• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ktigerJ

Ultimate Member
    Jun 5, 2013
    Anyone seen these things around? They look, to me, like Asian Hornets but I don't know for sure. They are about the size of a man's thumb. That stinger is HUGE IRL.

SKIP

Ultimate Member
    Mar 5, 2009
    Glenwood/Glenelg
    I am a back yard farmer and for the first in my life I have seem fewer pollinators this year. Usually, this time of the year I have those European hornet and black hornets all over my apples but not this year. I haven't seen honeybees and no yellow jackets. I throw my cantaloupe rinds back in the garden and not one yellow jacket can be seen. I always have to spray under my deck for paper wasps but not this year. What is going on?????????????

Ganegrei

Comblock Convert
    Jun 23, 2011
    Somewhere in BoCo
    I am a back yard farmer and for the first in my life I have seem fewer pollinators this year. Usually, this time of the year I have those European hornet and black hornets all over my apples but not this year. I haven't seen honeybees and no yellow jackets. I throw my cantaloupe rinds back in the garden and not one yellow jacket can be seen. I always have to spray under my deck for paper wasps but not this year. What is going on?????????????

All sorts of bees and wasps are dying off. Apparently a new wave of pesticides in use over the past 10-15 years is killing them stone dead. Time Magazine had a big article about it.

aquaman

Ultimate Member
    Sep 21, 2008
    Belcamp, MD

http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,2149141,00.html

good question. I've noticed that its a rarity to see a honeybee these days.... When I was a kid they were all over the place!

virtus

Ultimate Member
    Aug 11, 2010