• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • MDCXD

Nov 27, 2008
    Mt. Airy
    Although I'm fairly new to shooting, I've put a lot of rounds through my guns. I've just recently purchased a Remington 700 308. Police and was wondering if there was something I should do or some sort of coating or special ammunition I should be using to help with barrel wear and accuracy. I plan on shooting approx. 30-40 rounds per weekend. I'm not sure if that's a large number or not for a rifle, and any information would be very helpful. Thank you. :)

3rdRcn

RIP
    Industry Partner
    Sep 9, 2007
    Harford County
    Although I'm fairly new to shooting, I've put a lot of rounds through my guns. I've just recently purchased a Remington 700 308. Police and was wondering if there was something I should do or some sort of coating or special ammunition I should be using to help with barrel wear and accuracy. I plan on shooting approx. 30-40 rounds per weekend. I'm not sure if that's a large number or not for a rifle, and any information would be very helpful. Thank you. :)

Nothing to do but shoot your gun, clean it well before shooting and I would recommend buying some good match grade ammo if you want your rifle to shoot it's best. I would recommend Federal Gold Medal Match (FGMM) for a remington, I've never seen one that didn't like FGMM.