• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SlowShooter

SeaWaves not TigerStripes
    Dec 28, 2011
    Silver Spring, MD
    Hello all,

Many moons ago, when I just started shooting and collecting guns, I bought many guns that look cool and cheap at gun shows. One day, I saw a French gun with all the goodies for $250 and it is in .308, one of the most popular rounds out there, so I took it home that day. I did not know any thing about the gun (history, value, maintenance, issues…)

A few years later, when computer and internet getting more popular, I searched the net and found out that the MAS 49/56 I bought is not a collectable item (.308 conversion), and full of troubles, not just having a sewer pipe for the bore. Time to time, I thought I should find a way to get rid of it.

More years passing by, my shooting skill and my gun tinkering were getting better. I learned by myself how to deal with gun’s malfunctions by trials and error corrections. I pulled the MAS 49/56 out of the gun display and tried to do something about it. First, I tried to clean the bore. I did not remember how many bore brushes I destroyed and how many jars of elbow grease I emptied. The bore stayed dark as hell. A bout the FTF and FTE, I did not experience this because, honestly, I did not know a place to shoot a rifle at that time (it took me more than 10 yrs to find a rifle range after I already have 3 dozens rifles. It is hard to learn everything by yourself.) Any how, I heard about the weak spring, the after market gas regulator, the rough chamber so… I fixed what is cheap and what I could. I replaced the recoil spring and inspected the chamber. It looked good enough. Back to the display it went.