• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Idaho

Dec 10, 2015
    Towson, MD
    I am very new to bushcraft. I ordered a steel and flint fire starter kit which had steel, jute, char cloth and a piece of questionable flint. It was not very expensive and I don't feel like complaining to vendor. I can't make a spark and the "flint" portion of the stone is almost non-existent. I have looked at tons of video and the folks make it look easy but they also have a nice piece of flint to work with. (I have a ferro rod and striker and can light up the basement with it). I want to learn with the primitive method. I looked on line at various flint sources but there are different types of rock evidently and am not sure what to order. Can someone give me some guidance? Can I find chert in Baltimore area, say the Gunpowder around Hereford? Thanks in advance for any help.

slsc98

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    May 24, 2012
    Escaped MD-stan to WNC Smokies
    Great thread topic!

All I can offer (not surprisingly, “primitive” appears to have taken a back seat to practical): https://www.flint-and-steel.com/fire-starter/

With regard to practical, I remember a professor at Hopkins who would start each semester talking about the importance of the fire-making devices he never failed to have on his key chain. - and the irony of the fact that the TSA never once prevented him from boarding a plane with them. Not domestic flights and not international … (not sure what TSA would do with an actual piece of flint, rock?)

welder516

Deplorable Welder
    MDS Supporter
    Jun 8, 2013
    Underground Bunker
    I used dryer lint and Vaseline in small pill bottles when i camped in Oklahoma for a week. I know not too environmentally friendly but it works.