• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JB62

Ultimate Member
    Mar 5, 2013
    Annapolis
    I just got around to finally opening the latest Cabela's order and opened 2 boxes of 9mm 115 JHP. All of the rounds have a perfect circular crimp like mark around 1/3 to 1/2 way down the case. I am not an expert but do not remember seeing this on any rounds before.

Anyone of any input to why the marks are there ?

pbharvey

Habitual Testifier
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 27, 2012
    People still buy Corbon??

Ironically I just bought some 9mm +p Corbons from Cabella's too.
    Besides (or maybe before) Gold Dots I always thought they were the best or at least very good SD ammo. Is there a reason not buy Corbon, other than the fact that I live most of my life as if its still the '80s?

Blaster229

God loves you, I don't.
    MDS Supporter
    Sep 14, 2010
    Glen Burnie
    Sorry Blaster guess I am not up on the trends of cool ammo to buy

I don't know what the cool stuff is any more really. :) I still look at a box of Black Talon .40 I have had since long ago thinking it is the cool stuff :)

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    Is that a cannelure that you are seeing ? Used to be more semi-common than currently. It is intended to prevent bullet setback into the case. Is is generally a good feature , in the initial configuration as factory loaded ammo.
    For handloaders hypothetically a cannelure on the case could contribute to case streatching , or have issues if using bullets of different lengths/ seating depths. But this all is a lot more in abstract theory than actual use. For people so inclined Corbin makes a tool to add a cannelure to cases.