• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Joker

Jan 31, 2009
    Harford County
    I have been reloading on lee presses for the last 15 years, and have been happy with the results. Today I fell into a deal on a Dillon XL650 with several conversion kits for 9mm, .40 s&w, .45 auto, and .38/.357. It comes with Dillon dies to match the same calibers. It also comes with the super swage as well. The only part I could see that was missing is the hopper and plates for the case drop. What issues, inconsistencies, or quirks should I know about? I paid $525 for everything, and am wondering if it was a good deal or did I pay too much? Most of the dies look brand new, and a few definitely need cleaned. Otherwise everything appears to be in working order.

Cochise

Ultimate Member
    Sep 5, 2008
    Rockville
    it was a smoking deal - worth much more than twice what you paid. I load on a 550 so cant help on quirks

4g64loser

Bad influence
    Jan 18, 2007
    maryland
    Smoking deal. Many here would line up to buy several hundred dollars higher.

Keep the area under the plate clean. Buy a spare part kit from Dillon. And a couple extra autoindex springs. Broken a few things in them but all easy to replace with basic mechanical knowledge.

Joker

Jan 31, 2009
    Harford County
    Awesome. Thanks for the responses, and no buyers remorse, was just trying to figure out if I got a good deal on a discontinued model. I will get the recommended parts as soon as I can find them.

Huckleberry

No One of Consequence
    MDS Supporter
    Oct 19, 2007
    Severn & Lewes
    The great part is the Dillon No B.S. Warranty if something breaks or is broken.

If it's missing, the cost of the part sometimes is just S&H if you tell their CSR a "good enough" story i.e. "I rescued the press from a yard sale"