• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jorjohn11

Feb 26, 2006
    Anne Arundel County
    I shot in a high power match this weekend and had a dud primer. I just bought a brick of 1000 primers last month. They were CCI 400 small rifle. I've read on some of the other forums that others were experiencing the same issue. Anyone else had a problem recently? I wonder if quality is being overlooked to get quantity since it seems everyone is buying up all they can find. I've been reloading for over 35 years and have only had a dud this one time. I'm glad that it happened in the slow prone stage instead of one of the rapid stages.

herr.baer

Maryland Escapee
    Dec 27, 2007
    Tennessee
    I had my first dud primer ever in the last batch I reloaded. They were CCI 200 primers.

I know Mike had a dud this Sunday at the F-Class match. Not sure what primers he is using.

8milimeter

RICHARD (dino)
    Feb 15, 2009
    Frederick, Md
    I have a 1000 CCI 200 primers I bought two years ago that are junk.
    Several duds so far and lots of hang fires 5%.
    CCI is my last choice for regular primers. I am sure the BR primers are fine.

Bought some 450's this spring because thats all that was available, they are fine.

(FS: CCI 200 primers $1.00 per 100) 8 boxes available

DZ

Ultimate Member
    Oct 9, 2005
    Mount Airy, MD
    Thats odd. I would estimate that I have used around 6-7000 CCI primers of various flavors (large rifle, pistol and small pistol) and have never had a single failure.

Fustercluck

Aug 4, 2008
    Eastern Shore