For someone relatively new to the hobby - M4 or AR15?

The #1 community for Gun Owners of the Northeast

Member Benefits:

• No ad networks!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Kharstin

Cruffler
    Feb 15, 2012
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I am definitely new to the forum but I wouldn't say I am a Noob, more like a Noo (lol). I would like to ask all you experts on the forum, would you suggest an M4 or an AR 15 for someone like me? I do have mechanical experience if that is a consideration.

I don't plan on hunting with it, just target shooting. Looking for something I can have fun with that won't kill me on ammo prices like my M1911 does.

Thanks for your help.

Lex Armarum

Ultimate Member
    Oct 19, 2009
    Ummm, as far as I know they are the same rifle. That is, the AR-15 is a clone of the M-16 and the only difference is the configuration of the rifle. Then again, I'm a total newb when it comes to EBRs so I could be wrong.

-Z/28-

I wanna go fast
    Dec 6, 2011
    Harford Co
    It's a simple choice really. You can't have an M4 unless you're law enforcement, so AR15 it is. Now you can build an AR15 to be identical to an M4, but semi-auto only.

If you're worried about ammo prices, look at an sks or ak variant. 7.62x39 is dirt cheap.

Lex Armarum

Ultimate Member
    Oct 19, 2009
    It's a simple choice really. You can't have an M4 unless you're law enforcement, so AR15 it is. Now you can build an AR15 to be identical to an M4, but semi-auto only.

If you're worried about ammo prices, look at an sks or ak variant. 7.62x39 is dirt cheap.