• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rayg5102

Apr 12, 2009
    Frederick
    I'm new to all this and have been looking around for a Springfield Armory XDM. Went to the Gun Shack in Mt Airy and the guy there was very helpful and explained a heck of a lot.Showed my wife and I different models, different makes. Getting close to making a choice between the 9mm and 40 cal. Have shot both, but overall feel is 9mm might be the one.

Just like an auto mechanic, since I have no knowledge on this, I'm looking for any input on Gun Shack.

Any help appreciated. If you want to drop a PM so not to offend any shops, that ok.

DENWA

May 5, 2008
    Great folks there. Not the best selection or price but I spend my money there when I can.

Only issue I don't like is when I ask for something they always say

1. We just sold the last one.
    2. we can order you one.

I can order it myself, I just want it right now!

JasonMD85

Aug 16, 2006
    Great folks there. Not the best selection or price but I spend my money there when I can.

Only issue I don't like is when I ask for something they always say

1. We just sold the last one.
    2. we can order you one.

I can order it myself, I just want it right now!

x2. I know a few people who swear by them, but I have only been in there a few times. It's not a hateful hike for me, but GC is the same distance, so if I am going to travel that far, I typically go the other direction. The few times I have been in there however, they were very courteous and helpful, with plenty of good information and no bad information so far. Again though, I have not bought anything there short of some ammo and targets, so I cannot comment on how they are to deal with as far as the transfer end goes, only their professionalism and customer service from a walk in stand point.