• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • thedutchtouch

Feb 14, 2023
    Hi all, I'm a newbie. Shot a bit in the past, have deer hunted with a bow the last few years, but currently not a gun owner. looking to change that asap, and the main reason I'm getting into guns/shooting is to expand my hunting options, although it is fun to plink or target shoot as well. Safety/home security somewhat of a third factor but I'm a hunter first so that's my primary goal, and really liking the CVA brand, both for muzzleloader and 350 legend. On that note I'm headed out to do some long gun shopping now, but would appreciate any advice or recommendations for hql course as well, as I do plan to own a variety. I realize there's a training section and have looked there but would appreciate your anecdotes and advice, particularly if you're somewhat local to the College Park area (I'd rather not drive 2 hours for a course if there's a good instructor 20 min away, that sort of thing)

Thanks all!

TwinTurbskis

professional amateur
    Jun 9, 2020
    Derwood, MD
    Welcome from MoCo. My only training experience (2-day W&C class) was with IOTA training group in Marriottsville and thought they were good. It would be around 45 mins from College Park depending on traffic.

cyberalex

MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2022
    Federalsburg, Maryland