• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • shootin the breeze

Missed it by that much
    Dec 22, 2012
    Highland
    So, my c&r came today. Right at thirty days from send out. Really surprised at the turn around speed.

I'm a total noob at c&r so I'd like suggestions. Rifle or pistol, doesn't matter. I will say I do want an M1 and that would be a fine first purchase. I would love some help navigating the cmp program and advice on the grade level to select. I am active duty.

Regardless of what you guys suggest money is an object as I have other purchases to make before the ban as does everyone living behind the iron curtain.

Thanks in advance for your help.:D

lee2

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Oct 8, 2007
    So, my c&r came today. Right at thirty days from send out. Really surprised at the turn around speed.

I'm a total noob at c&r so I'd like suggestions. Rifle or pistol, doesn't matter. I will say I do want an M1 and that would be a fine first purchase. I would love some help navigating the cmp program and advice on the grade level to select. I am active duty.

Regardless of what you guys suggest money is an object as I have other purchases to make before the ban as does everyone living behind the iron curtain.

i would suggest a mosin 91/30.

cz27jim

I *am* a curio and relic!
    Sep 27, 2012
    :thumbsup: on the Mosin 91/30.
    CZ-82
    WWII era Walther P38 (rather than the later P1 w/ alloy frame)
    WWII era 1911

Bravo757

Stand In The Gap
    Apr 5, 2013
    Hagerstown
    M1 is a great rifle - if you're ever thinking about a bolt action - a good Mauser is a great place to start and there's only about 85 major variations so its easy to get hooked and have a reason to pick up another one here and another there - here a Mauser - there a Mauser but never enough in the collection.

Malblast

Apr 15, 2012