• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • jaywade

Ultimate Member
    Nov 2, 2009
    Leesburg, VA
    question
    Is it legal to have a shotgun in your truck in md? unloaded but say shells in a bag next to shotgun in case ? would this be legal in Va? (not on a range trip but to and from work and home)

is it legal to do this w/ any other long gun?

I understand you can not do this w/ a hand gun , but what about a shot gun, or a rifle?

novus collectus

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    May 1, 2005
    Bowie
    Some handguns can be trunk guns generally speaking under MD law alone like antiques, and long guns can also be in the car as long as they are not "concealed" and are not loaded by state law alone generally speaking (stay off public school property though).
    Some local governemnts may have restrictions on transport and possession, but state preempts most restrictions.

I am not a lawyer but if it is not restricted in the law, then it should be legal by default and there are no laws in state law regarding transportation of unloaded long guns or antique handguns.

novus collectus

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    May 1, 2005
    Bowie
    Yes, the regulated firearms which are long guns are long guns regardless under 4-203 of the criminal law article. The transportation restrictions in 4-203 only apply to handguns which are not antique, firearms (which are not antique) which can be concealed, short barreled rifles and short barreled shotguns. Long guns and antigues are specifically excluded from the definition of "handgun" (whereas SBR and SBS are specifically included).

4-201:
    (c) (1) "Handgun" means a pistol, revolver, or other firearm capable of being concealed on the person.

(2) "Handgun" includes a short-barreled shotgun and a short-barreled rifle.

(3) "Handgun" does not include a shotgun, rifle, or antique firearm.

jaywade

Ultimate Member
    Nov 2, 2009
    Leesburg, VA