• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • dant98

Oct 25, 2013
    I'm in the process of shopping around for my first handgun. I haven't got a lot of handgun experience yet, but I figure I gotta start somewhere.

I've been shooting for maybe 3 years now. First purchase was a Remington 700 while I've shot at 100 and 200 yd ranges. Then I got a Benelli Nova I've used for trap shooting almost monthly since i got it last year and one pheasant hunt.

Now I'd like to expand into handguns. The best advice I think I've been given is to find a way to try as many different guns as you can, so I think heading to one of the ranges that let you pay a rental fee and swap out as many guns as you want would be best.

Who would you say has the best selection? If it helps, I'm specifically looking for something in .40 S&W. I've already shot Glock 22 and might be interested in the longer Glock 35, but I'm also want to make this purchase on the cheaper side of things ($300-$500, not $500-$800).

I'd like to try the Taurus PT840, but I don't know if any of the rental ranges will carry this.

I've been to Gilberts before, but not OnTarget. I also saw MSAR on a google search, but they're kinda out of the way for me... more in the area between DC and Baltimore or west of Baltimore as far as Fredrick.

smdub

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Nov 14, 2012
    MoCo
    Don't forget Freestate. You can call any of them to ask about specific rentals.

RoadDawg

Nos nostraque Deo
    Dec 6, 2010
    Before you do any pistol shooting... If you are a Maryland resident, Do you have your Handgun Qualification License? In not... get it first. If Yes... proceed to...