• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mattjans

Feb 19, 2017
    Rockville, MD
    Hi folks...My first purchase was a 1957 (or so) Mossberg 295 12ga bolt action. Identical to this one: https://www.gunbroker.com/item/761703115

I want to use it for turkey hunting this year, and was recommended to get a full choke. Warning, I'm new to shotguns, so don't know more about chokes than what I read about today :) My shotgun has something screwed on the end just like the one at the link above. I assume this is the choke, or a choke cap or something. I have the same one as in that GunBroker ad, and when I unscrew it, there's nothing inside or in the barrel. It doesn't look like the poly choke I've been reading about.

So is this my choke, or just part of it? It doesn't seem to reduce barell diameter much if it all.

I've found some stores online, but 295 parts seem hard to come by. Anyone know of a good local shop or collector who might have other chokes for this?

Anyone know if a 185, 195 choke fits on a 295?

Thanks!

-Matt

CasualObserver

Who Observes the Observer
    Apr 27, 2012
    Maryland Born Now in Vermont
    You might want to call havlin sales. I have used them for parts before for some of my older Mossberg 22 rifles and they are pretty good to work with.

If it is a factory installed choke I would guess it is a c-lect choke system and if you are missing the adjusting sleeve they will have it if anyone will (call if not on the website to see if they have it). I have one on one of my old Mossberg bolt action shotguns. As far as it not looking like it reduces the diameter much, it won't. You have to look very carefully to notice the difference.

https://havlinsales.com/bolt.htm

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    I was about to recomend the above source.