• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rookie Shooter

Feb 26, 2009
    Sykesville, MD
    As my name says, I am new to shooting. I grew up around firearms all my life, but I just recently made my first purchase, an XDM 9mm. I will hopefully be adding to my collection soon.

A couple of questions for all of you:

1. I live in Sykesville, so the AGC range is very convenient. However, you have to be a member of an associated club to use the facilities. Does anyone have any recommendations on any of the clubs?

2. My next purchase will probably be an AR-15. I need some advice on what to look for before purchasing. I am probably not ready to build my own yet. From what I've read here The Gun Connection is recommended, but is it worth the drive to White Marsh from Sykesville?

Thanks in advance for your help.

novus collectus

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    May 1, 2005
    Bowie
    Welcome.

You might want to think about getting a C&R. For a new person getting into the sport, a C&R FFL is a good thing to have because you can get many different kinds of cheap starter guns to cut your teeth on. It will also get you discounts for online shopping on accessories and ammo for your new modern guns.

HoCoShooter

Ultimate Member
    Feb 25, 2009
    Howard County
    I had a lot of trouble getting any clubs in my area responding to me - You can just call the range, join 'their' club, mmss, and join right then and there. That's what I'd suggest. Then you can join another club if you have enough interest in one.

Bigdtc

Ultimate Member
    BANNED!!!
    Dec 6, 2007
    South Carolina