• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • FPL53

Ultimate Member
    Aug 4, 2013
    Frederick
    Is there really a difference between brands like Adcor, Engage Armament, Rock River, Spikes, etc and so forth? I'm just talking about stripped lowers. Isn't a billet just a billet. I know the upper, barrel, trigger and other parts make a big difference but does the stripped out lower frame really make a difference?

rbird7282

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Dec 6, 2012
    Columbia
    Probably the same. I have three from Engage, but haven't built an AR yet so I can't give you specifics. Don't know if there are minor differences between them or not. Engage has them in stock though.

John2510

Feb 15, 2011
    Silver Spring, since 1973
    Some...

I have limited experience, but there can be some differences.

I tried to put an aftermarket trigger in an "AR 15" brand lower, but it was too wide.

I had good luck with this cheap lower in it's place:
    http://www.karrisguns.com/ar-15-lower-receivers/-stripped-ar15-lower-receiver-anderson-manufacturing

The finish was also nicer than on some more highly-rated and more expensive lowers.

So... There can be differences, but they don't necessarily correlate with price. Paying more than $125 is probably foolish... in my limited experience.

Is there really a difference between brands like Adcor, Engage Armament, Rock River, Spikes, etc and so forth? I'm just talking about stripped lowers. Isn't a billet just a billet. I know the upper, barrel, trigger and other parts make a big difference but does the stripped out lower frame really make a difference?

Jan 14, 2008