• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • pk64f100

Cold Dead hands
    Aug 24, 2013
    Carroll Co Md
    Looking for a inexpensive but quality BP rifle in a large bore, I suspect 50 cal is what most use. I would like it for large game, i want to start hunting with my son in W Va with BP.

K31

"Part of that Ultra MAGA Crowd"
    MDS Supporter
    Jan 15, 2006
    AA county
    One of the first decisions you need to make is whether you want to use a traditional BP rifle: percussion lock, flintlock, usually with side ignition and firing round balls or an inline using for instance 209 primers, sabots, scoped, etc.

OnHoPr

Oct 20, 2013
    SE MI
    Agreed with the above. MOST generally speaking the inline will have close to twice the distance, easier to clean, and give less troubles in hunting situations. Being a beginner, I suggest SS, but all SS is not the same. Both can be finicky to start with, but the PRB can be FUN to shoot where the inline and hunting loads need to be wet and dry patched between shots unless Blackhorn is used. The PRB still bewilders me on its effectiveness when hitting a whitetail.

Vandy

Feb 27, 2007
    Churchton, MD
    Do you want to get into black powder shooting or are you looking for a muzzleloader just to hunt with?

If it is the former, I would get a traditional like the Hawken mentioned above. If you are just looking to hunt with it, I would only consider a modern inline, also for the reasons stated above. I am very partial to Thompson Center muzzleloaders. Take a look at the TC Impact for around $250. I do not own, but have shot one. It is a nice handling, accurate, and easy to maintain muzzleloader.