• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Demoneyes86

Ultimate Member
    Mar 4, 2011
    Baltimore
    Anyone here have any experience i want a cheap scope to start out with and i found a great deal on a pentax game seeker II 4-12x40. Just until funds get better then i plan to order a nikon prostaff 4-12x40. Any info would be great. I hear they make most of the glass used by burris. Or any other suggestions for around the $100 mark just want for hunting/plinking on my .308 ruger american.
    Or would a bushnell banner 4-12 be any better i have no experience with either but they are similar price ranges.
    Or how about simmons pro sport they seem to have decent reviews.

Last edited:

Rem700fan

Ammo Disposal Expert
    Jul 11, 2012
    Eastern Panhandle, WV
    bought one a couple of years ago to put on a Remington model 7 predator. At the time it was the only scope I could find with Mossy Oak brush camo to match the rifle. Have not had any issues with it. Use it when calling predators, ground hogs, and the occasional deer. Clear glass, IMO good scope for the money. Also check on Swift brand scopes, I find some very good deals on ebay for these, probably due to not being well known for making rifle scopes, IMO as good leupold.

photoracer

Competition Shooter
    Oct 22, 2010
    West Virginia
    Anyone here have any experience i want a cheap scope to start out with and i found a great deal on a pentax game seeker II 4-12x40. Just until funds get better then i plan to order a nikon prostaff 4-12x40. Any info would be great. I hear they make most of the glass used by burris. Or any other suggestions for around the $100 mark just want for hunting/plinking on my .308 ruger american.
    Or would a bushnell banner 4-12 be any better i have no experience with either but they are similar price ranges.