• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • budman93

Ultimate Member
    Mar 1, 2013
    Frederick County
    I am just wondering if the new laws going into effect in MD change any of the C&R stuff. Essentially I would like to know if I could buy handguns such as cz 82's and tokarevs after oct 1 without jumping through the new hoops if I were to get a C&R license. Thanks.

Alphabrew

Binary male Lesbian
    Jan 27, 2013
    Woodbine
    I'm no expert but I think the only C&R issues with SB281 is in regards to magazine capacity. You couldn't legally get a CZ 82 shipped here (with a mag anyway) because the mag is over 10 rounds, for example. Toks should be fine.

budman93

Ultimate Member
    Mar 1, 2013
    Frederick County
    so a c&r enables you to avoid the new permits and fingerprinting for purchasing handguns? Obviously not modern ones but at least some of the cool old ones?

Alphabrew

Binary male Lesbian
    Jan 27, 2013
    Woodbine
    I forgot about the handgun licensing, I thought I was grandfathered in since I already own regulated handguns. Not sure how that affects C&R buying. I would think vendors would still ship C&R guns to MD C&R holders, but not sure if you could legally receive them under MD law without the licensing BS, assuming it applies to you. That's a good question.

Obviously I don't know what distributors will do with mags over 10 rounds.

budman93

Ultimate Member
    Mar 1, 2013
    Frederick County
    yeah thats what I was trying to figure out. I know if you have already bought regulated weapons you dont need to do the training requirements but the way I understand it you still have to pay for a permit and fingerprinting. Hopefully some of the seasoned C&R guys will weigh in. I just figured that you could probably do that since with a C&R you have an ffl.

A1Uni

Ultimate Member
    Aug 28, 2012