• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • RT468

Feb 19, 2009
    Catonsville Md
    Recently asked advice in regards to a hunting rifle for a lefty.Dawned on me that I don't know anybody who shoots with left as dominant side.Can't say that I've ever even seen a rifle set up that way.I know they are made just have never noticed one.Would have to assume that say a Remington 7600 probably not the best choice?Any advice or preferences in the.270-30.06 caliber range for a lefty?Basically looking for a reasonably priced hunting rifle for a left handed shooter.The ability to mount a scope solid without too much fuss would be a bonus. I don't own any hunting rifles and favor the right with rifles and for some reason left with pistols.Basically I have no basis of knowledge and figured I'd ask. Open to all opinions and thoughts on the matter. Thanks.

Fustercluck

Aug 4, 2008
    Eastern Shore
    Getting a lefty bolt action gun is definitely worth it, especially for a hunting rifle, as it makes follow-up shots on wounded game possible without losing your cheek weld and visualization of the target. Caliber is based on intended game, and most manucaturers have LH options, including Remington.

BUFF7MM

☠Buff➐㎣☠
    Mar 4, 2009
    Garrett County
    I own three, a Browning 25WSSM, Savage 7mm WSM, and a winchester 300WSM, ( listed in the classifides) the first two are excellent shooters, the last never fired.
    The savage was the cheapest, pricewise, but is an excellent shooter. The remington 7600 would be a good choice because it can be shot easily from either side. I would have to say if you want to stay within a smaller budget, a Savage in 270 or 308 could be had for a reasonable price.

smokey

2A TEACHER
    Jan 31, 2008