• Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • 1Rosta

Jul 16, 2012
    I'm new to this and I have some questions I know will be answered here.:thumbsup:
    Do I need to have my form one with my firearm whenever I go to the range?
    If I need the form one, will a copy suffice or do I need the original.
    When I travel to another state to shoot, what do I need to do if anything.
    Thanks

rsideout

MDS Supporter
    Dec 11, 2009
    MD - Capital Region
    Just keep a copy with you when you go to the range. I keep laminated copies of all my stamps in the range bag. When you travel out of state with an MG, SBR, or SBS, you need to get a Form 5320.20 - Application to Transport Interstate approved by ATF. You don't need this approval for Silencers.

teratos

My hair is amazing
    MDS Supporter
    Patriot Picket
    Jan 22, 2009
    Bel Air
    rsideout said:
    Just keep a copy with you when you go to the range. I keep laminated copies of all my stamps in the range bag. When you travel out of state with an MG, SBR, or SBS, you need to get a Form 5320.20 - Application to Transport Interstate approved by ATF. You don't need this approval for Silencers.

I have always been curious as to why you don't need a form 5320.20 for a suppressor. Do you happen to know the rationale?

rsideout

MDS Supporter
    Dec 11, 2009
    MD - Capital Region
    I have always been curious as to why you don't need a form 5320.20 for a suppressor. Do you happen to know the rationale?

No I don't. And I'm very happy that it is not required for cans. If required, I would be in direct violation of the paperwork reduction act and Form 1 & 4 approval times would increase. :D

Markp

Ultimate Member
    Dec 22, 2008