• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • motox79

May 24, 2010
    damascus
    Hey guys, im new to reloading, but been around MDS for a while. After causally reading up, and lurking the Reloading threads, I finally decided to start off with a straight wall cartridge. I am experimenting with 44 mag subsonics. Found about 11.8-12 grains of H110 and cast 300gr with magnum primers seem like a good start out of my Henry model X with Bushwacker 46. Sound like a basketball dropped from waist height, no crack. Accuracy seems to be on par with reman ammo (I’ll work on it when I can get outside to shoot and set up my chrony and lead sled)
    Anyhow, I’ve noticed that some Sellior & Bellot brass is very hard to remove primers, and just as hard to press them in (only did 2 before I set aside…. I build car motors and gearboxes day to day, so when things “feel wrong” I don’t push it) anyone else notice this? Also, compared to the Remans I have fired, they seem HOT! And the primers look a bit flat…. Could that have something to do with the extra resistance? Looking forward to hearing thoughts, and appreciate any input!

lazarus

Ultimate Member
    Jun 23, 2015
    Hey guys, im new to reloading, but been around MDS for a while. After causally reading up, and lurking the Reloading threads, I finally decided to start off with a straight wall cartridge. I am experimenting with 44 mag subsonics. Found about 11.8-12 grains of H110 and cast 300gr with magnum primers seem like a good start out of my Henry model X with Bushwacker 46. Sound like a basketball dropped from waist height, no crack. Accuracy seems to be on par with reman ammo (I’ll work on it when I can get outside to shoot and set up my chrony and lead sled)