• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rico903

Ultimate Member
    May 2, 2011
    I haven't done any shot gunning in several years, so when did long barrels become the new trend for skeet. In the past it was always shorter, open choked barrels. Now it seems people are using trap length barrels for skeet.

Aamdskeetshooter

Ultimate Member
    Dec 19, 2013
    Moco
    Once people started using sustained lead longer barrels became more popular. The extra weight and sight plane are additional benefits. I've been shooting a tubed 30" Beretta 682 for 25 years or so. The guns also weigh a lot more nowadays. Most top shooter shoot a gun over 10 pounds with tubes. The latest trend is high ribs and Monte Carlo stocks like trap guns. Your head is more upright, vision is better which in turn means you don't lift your head off the stock. For a casual shooter it's not a big deal. Fundamentals are much more important. If you're going to spend big bucks on a competition rig you probably know what you want/like.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Pinecone

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 4, 2013
    Even in the short barrel days, many shooters put weights on the barrel.

The idea is that heavier mass out front, smooths the swing. The downside, it takes more to get the swing up to speed.

Kevp

Ultimate Member
    Apr 17, 2008
    I think it's coincided with the rise in popularity of sporting clays. 30-32" barrels are the standard in sporting clays, and I think you see it because guys are using the same guns for both sports.

rtse4me

Apr 12, 2013
    Howard County