• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • JettaRed

Ultimate Member
    Mar 13, 2013
    Middletown
    Does anyone know what branch of service LTC Bateman is in? As an ex-military officer myself, I am ashamed of him using his title in a blog of his personal opinion (by the way, I know that blogs are personal opinions, so I apologize for being redundant). The disclaimer that it is his personal opinion is rather lame when he includes his military rank in his by line.

teratos

My hair is amazing
    MDS Supporter
    Patriot Picket
    Jan 22, 2009
    Bel Air
    He's and idiot. He doesn't know what a "well-regulated militia" is, nor does he understand the purpose of maintaining an armed populace. Because he doesn't understand this on the most fundamental levels, you cannot argue with him.

Matlack

Scribe
    Dec 15, 2008
    The dear LTC lives in England where you cannot carry a bottle of soda without being considered a violent offender. Where roaming gangs control the streets and if you try to defend yourself you are now the criminal. He is supposedly a US soldier, who by his own admission is trampling on the very constitution he swore an oath to protect. May he RIH.

If the dear LTC actually understood the meaning of a "well regulated militia" he would know that at the time of the framing of the constitution it meant individual citizens, not a state run militia which was referred to as an organized militia. The National Guard would either be considered a standing army or organized militia. In terms of a "well regulated" and "organized" are very different. "well regulated" is also very different from a "standing army".

Scratch

Banned
    BANNED!!!
    Aug 18, 2013
    Annapolis