• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BossmanPJ

Ultimate Member
    Feb 22, 2013
    Cecil County
    Looking to get into black powder. Anyone have experience with this particular rifle?

I am looking for a budget first BP rifle and my father just got one of the Thompson Impacts. Feels great in my hands and looks to be built decently for for price.

Any input from the masses? Anyone have one they are looking to sell to upgrade? Any thoughts appreciated.

BossmanPJ

Ultimate Member
    Feb 22, 2013
    Cecil County
    Thompson Center makes decent guns. I would try it as an entry level gun, though I have no experience with this particular rifle. You'll love ML shooting and hunting. I promise.

I've never tried it. I grew up on cartridge rifles and never saw the reason to experiment with BP. Now I want to get into it to expand my season.

I keep hearing how much fun it is. We will see.

Pale Ryder

Ultimate Member
    Jan 12, 2009
    Millersville
    Patience.:) I have one not shot much, but good gun. Put a little light grease on the shiny area under the breech. When you open it its at the bottom of the part you pull back on to open. I use TC 250 grain Shockwaves. Don't waste your time with Powerbelts. TC barrels are a little undersize, takes a good push to seat bullets.

wdc5008

Nov 7, 2015
    Frederick County
    I picked one up last year and I think it's a good BP gun for the price. The fiber optic iron sights are easy to pick up on and make for easy open sighted shots. Bagged a deer in the Frederick watershed this season with it.

Clovis

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Aug 1, 2011
    Centreville
    I picked one up last year and I think it's a good BP gun for the price. The fiber optic iron sights are easy to pick up on and make for easy open sighted shots. Bagged a deer in the Frederick watershed this season with it.