• Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • drive_accord_ingly

Aug 1, 2007
    MoCo
    Does anyone use one of those electronic scales that trickle the exact weighted charge and then stop?

I have been using my RCBS powder charger and beam scale to load up those rounds for decades. Works fine. That green powder measure is extremely accurate and I have nothing but praise for that combo/approach.

But I just gotta ask. Are the electronic doohickeys worth it?

Pinecone

Ultimate Member
    MDS Supporter
    Feb 4, 2013
    ABSOLUTELY.

I have an RCBS Chargemaster. It is not perfect, but it works well. And all reports were that it was better than the competition.

I tried to order a PACT, but was a bit upset when they took my order charged my card then NOTHING. I called them and was told it would be at least 6 weeks before it shipped. Really? You can't tell people that when they order.

The only issue is, the Chargemaster is not fast enough. So I charge the primed case, seat the bullet, then wait for the next charge to finish dispensing. I realy need a second one, so no waiting. :)

BUFF7MM

☠Buff➐㎣☠
    Mar 4, 2009
    Garrett County
    Chargemaster 1500 here and it's way faster than beaming it. I did a couple of small mods to mine to speed it up a little, changed the speed times between where it goes from dropping powder on the scale to trickling it on to the scale. Not a whole lot of speed added but it spends less time trickling since it gets closer to the programmed charge weight before it switches over to trickle. Mine also runs between seating and crimping to speed things up a little.
    Definitely a plus when working up test loads, switching charge weights is a snap.

Shooter88

Aug 21, 2013