• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • ken792

Ultimate Member
    Sep 2, 2011
    Fairfax, VA
    I'm probably done with gun purchases for the year. Here are the four guns I bought in 2012 that I still have. As a poor college student, I took a second job at minimum wage for 10-30 additional hours a week in order to be able to afford these. Totally worth it.

P1010003-1.jpg

1. May 1943 Service Grade M1 from the CMP. This was handpicked and has a GI walnut stock.
    2. Dec 1943 Service Grade M1 fromt he CMP. This was mail ordered and has a GI birch stock from the 60's with the Letterkenny Arsenal ink stamp, matching the LEAD rebuild stamp on the receiver.
    3. Chinese SKS I got in a trade from a friend.
    4. Howa made M1 Carbine for the Royal Thai Police.

Not pictured (sold or traded) are a Pietta Remington 1858 revolver, Finn marked Westinghouse M91 Mosin that I got for $65, and a M24/47 Yugo Mauser I got for $100.

joppaj

Sheepdog
    Staff member
    Apr 11, 2008
    MD
    I don't need an SKS, I'm jealous of the other three pictured.

ken792

Ultimate Member
    Sep 2, 2011
    Fairfax, VA
    I don't need an SKS, I'm jealous of the other three pictured.

Thanks. I didn't really want it either. I only got it because my parents trained with them back in China, since military training was mandatory for students. I did bring my dad with me to the range to try it. He still remembered its manual of arms. I don't shoot it or the Carbine much, even though I have a crap ton of 7.62x39 ammo (all the more reason to get an AK when It turn 21).

I do shoot the Garands every weekend. I'm president of the Rifle & Pistol Club on campus and that is my excuse, as well as it being addicting as crap.

CroftonBilly

Huge Member
    MDS Supporter
    Apr 26, 2011
    Crofton