• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • BUFF7MM

☠Buff➐㎣☠
    Mar 4, 2009
    Garrett County
    Is Lee comparable to Hornady? Been thinking of pulling the trigger no pun, on a reloading kit.

I have no experience with the Hornady presses, I'm using a Lee classic turret and really like it. I've also got a Lee breech lock single stage that I've put to mostly sizing and a few odds and ends jobs. I definately like being able to have my dies already set in the turret and the ease of switching out loading for different calibers.

Patriot

Dec 31, 2011
    Harford co.
    I have no experience with the Hornady presses, I'm using a Lee classic turret and really like it. I've also got a Lee breech lock single stage that I've put to mostly sizing and a few odds and ends jobs. I definately like being able to have my dies already set in the turret and the ease of switching out loading for different calibers.

+1

I have never used any Hornady gear except for a powder trickler so I can't tell you much about them but I am very pleased with my Lee classic turret press. As Buff stated being able to easily switch between calibers by leaving the dies in the turrets is pretty sweet. Turrets themselves are less than $10(at least they were when i bought my last one 6 months ago) so its not a big deal buying 1 for each caliber. The auto indexing feature makes punching out a bunch of pistol rounds pretty fast and easy but the auto indexing feature can be easily disabled by simpling removing the rod in the center of the press. This essentially turns the press into a single stage. IMHO the Lee press is a very nice compromise between a single stage press and a progressive.

Biggfoot44

Ultimate Member
    Aug 2, 2009
    The non-Classic works fine also ( origional=cast alum , "Classic"= cast iron , ie the alum came a cpl decades first).