• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    I've got an upcoming hog and deer combo hunt with DocT and I'm looking for suggestions on ammo, particularly for hogs. I'll be shooting my 30-06. Can I get away with standard deer type ammunition since I'll have an opportunity to shoot whatever shows up? Am I over thinking this? I'm new to hunting pig and I want to make sure I'm not under gunned. Thanks in advance.

HogCommander

Aug 10, 2013
    Texas Hill Country
    Deer hunting ammo will work like a charm. My biggest boars were DRT with Remington Core Lokt in .308. If there's any doubt just shoot them in the neck. Good luck on your hunt!

outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    Deer hunting ammo will work like a charm. My biggest boars were DRT with Remington Core Lokt in .308. If there's any doubt just shoot them in the neck. Good luck on your hunt!
    Thank you kind sir. Core Lokt is on of my favorites. I will go with that.

King Chicken

I identify as King/Emperor
    MDS Supporter
    Apr 24, 2022
    Land Full of Marys - MoCo
    I've got an upcoming hog and deer combo hunt with DocT and I'm looking for suggestions on ammo, particularly for hogs. I'll be shooting my 30-06. Can I get away with standard deer type ammunition since I'll have an opportunity to shoot whatever shows up? Am I over thinking this? I'm new to hunting pig and I want to make sure I'm not under gunned. Thanks in advance.
    Never heard of combo hunting. Where is this at?!
    Doesn't ammo depend on distance/venue?
    are you shooting from a pickup or chopper :)?

outrider58

Eats Bacon Raw
    MDS Supporter
    Jul 29, 2014
    Never heard of combo hunting. Where is this at?!
    Doesn't ammo depend on distance/venue?
    are you shooting from a pickup or chopper :)?