• Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • bwags91314

Apr 17, 2012
    Maryland
    Hi All,

I've been using a Beretta AL391 for about the last 10 years to shoot primarily trap with an occasional round of skeet. I'm looking to purchase an over/under shotgun for both trap and skeet. I like to think I don't have too many requirements, but they are:

- Type: Over/under
    - Budget: $2-3K (would go up to $5K if it was absolutely perfect)
    - Black receiver
    - Nice/fancy looking wood
    - 12 gauge

I've gone down the rabbit hole and come up with a short list of ones that interest me. Those are:

- Weatherby Orion Sporting
    - Mossberg International Gold Reserve - Black Label
    - CZ All-American
    - IFG/F.A.I.R Carrera One
    - Rizzini BR110 Sporter
    - Browning CX

Any feedback or suggestions is appreciated,
    Thank you

River02

One Ping Only...
    MDS Supporter
    Sep 19, 2015
    Mid-Maryland
    You've got solid choices there-- you could also include something from the Beretta Silver Pigeon Line well within the price range you're considering.

Edit to include: I have the Weatherby Orion Field model and a Browning Citori-- Both older but still solid performers. Added an assortment of Briley choke tubes for both.

Last edited:

Dingo222

Nov 6, 2019
    Citori or beretta silver pigeon will fit that budget just fine. Both have tons of parts available and are made to go thousands of rounds with minimal upkeep.

Bountied

Ultimate Member
    Apr 6, 2012
    Pasadena
    Citori or beretta silver pigeon will fit that budget just fine. Both have tons of parts available and are made to go thousands of rounds with minimal upkeep.
    I'm a fan of the Browning's. I've owned a few. Sadly all I have left in a shotgun is my BPS and A5.

jimbobborg

Oddball caliber fan
    Aug 2, 2010
    Northern Virginia